After reading several books about anxiety and its many treatments, trying different counselors and their approaches, and good old years of experience, I have found the two most important steps that help me find my way out of the confusing maze of worry.

  1. Research. Find out more, ask questions, learn, determine what I can do and what I just have to accept and allow to happen.
  2. Take action. Now that I have processed and planned, I need to write down what I am going to do, and schedule when I am going to do it. The hard part: actually doing it.

That’s all! Easy, right?

Hardly. Questions and research are my comfort zone, so I spend too much time on step 1, and not enough time actually doing anything. Paralysis by analysis. Living in my head too much. Mentally and physically, I tire easily which makes me feel bad about myself, and makes the lethargy worse. Motivation is hard to come by. I know I need some structure to my day, and being off work I don’t have that. I was temporarily enthused about this blog, but very few people seem to be reading or responding to it. If I’m doing this just for me, that’s fine, but then the incentive to follow a blogging schedule is gone.

So, I need to make a plan, and follow through. Here are my 2 teeny tiny goals for the next week: commit to volunteering (but where?!) and walk the track at the gym at least once. There, done. If I feel like it, I’ll write another post.

I am open to suggestions, advice and comments.

Thank you for reading!

 

9 thoughts on “Worry Plan

  1. Oh dear. I do so wish that I could be a source of motivation. You know, you have selected two things I would love to do, as well. Volunteer ideas? How about the hospital? They have many roles to be filled. And how about you & I schedule a walk once a week in the new year? Thank you for your honesty. Yes, ultimately, it is up to ourselves to do what must be done – as difficult as that may be. But if I may, I would still like to hang with you. 🙂 Plus, I love your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sonia! Yes, let’s walk. Time to catch up with each other. I’m thinking of Hillsdale for volunteering. I’d love to work at the Humane Society but afraid I’d be a sobbing wreck at the end of the day, leaving pets behind in cages. That sentence makes me tear up!

      Like

  2. Don’t stop writing, I look forward to your blogs. I’ve just been a quiet observer! The walking part – no problem, we just set a firm date – can’t be broken and as for volunteering, there’s an endless supply. InformDurham lets you search opportunities based on your interests.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, thank you Cathy. I have the free fit pass and feel like I should be going more than once a week. I’ve asked for a fitness tracker for Christmas, I think that will be the kick in the pants I need!

      Like

  3. It sounds like you have things figured out. You are correct though when you say it’s difficult to take action. I suffer from the same problem…..great ideas not necessarily acted upon.

    Rae Ann

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

