I do not like New Year’s Eve. Mostly, I don’t like going out in public, it is the most hellish night of the year. It is the loudest, crowdest, too much everything of a night. I used to go out and “celebrate” because that is what I thought I was supposed to do. Even if you make it through the night unscathed, under the influence, getting a cab home is near impossible. This is Canada, it’s cold! Waiting outside a closed bar for 90 minutes for a cab. Not fun! There are outdoor events, why? Canada?! Cold!!! Sloppy drunk people trying to kiss you at midnight, and beyond. Cover charges for no good reason. Going out for dinner is no good either, restaurants add extra tables in between the existing tables, so you have to walk sideways to get to your seat, and you can overhear conversations at all the surrounding tables. People get very dressed up in uncomfortable clothes, high heels (Canada…cold) and glitter. Fake, phony. Loud. Bright lights, dim people. I don’t get it and I don’t want to be forced to participate in the worst night of the year for an introvert. This year was kind of crappy for me, I don’t want to dwell on it and I don’t want to celebrate it either. But one good thing that has happened this year, at age 50, is that I finally accept myself. I now know that I am not the only person in the world that feels this way, it is not a personality defect, and I don’t have to pretend to be someone I’m not. I’ll celebrate that! Quietly, at home, warm and comfortable. In pajamas. No introvert hangover the next day. Happy New Year!

crowds
Crowds=Hell
5 thoughts on “Extrovert Eve

  1. My husband feels just the same. New Years celebrations are not fun or exciting for him – he finds nothing appealing about being around a bunch of people all night long. Like you, we spent a quiet evening at home!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Couldn’t agree more. I wait with anticipation to celebrate…January 1st. I like the idea of people having a good time out and about as long as they are actually having a good time. And, if they know why they’re out. I don’t think a lot of folks even know what they’re celebrating or noting. Loved the title to your post. Perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

