I don’t believe in making a New Year’s resolution: they tend to be too big, the timing is too arbitrary and the dead of winter is not a great time to take on anything that requires a high level of motivation.

I prefer mini goals, very small and manageable habit changes, that are ongoing. All year long! There are many great books and websites about this topic. I like the idea as championed by Dr. BJ Fogg: http://tinyhabits.com/join/ (it is free). He also has a TED talk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AdKUJxjn-R8

For example, I had a tiny goal of doing 2 sun salutations every day. I still do this most days, unless my fibromyalgia is really bad. 2 is easy, if I feel like doing more I can, but I know I’m only committed to doing 2. It is enough to warm up my muscles and get a good stretch, and I feel like I’ve accomplished something. Phew! Doable! If that is a word. I have a daily meditation practice, maintained by keeping sessions short, 10-20 minutes. Good enough!

Keep your goals small and reasonable, and celebrate each little victory. I also recommend reading The Willpower Instinct by Kelly McGonigal, and Better Than Before by Gretchen Rubin.

Aim low, people!

 

5 thoughts on “No resolution

  1. Same thoughts as you!!! My thoughts came from reading of Kaizen – “wise change” its small changes. Even a minute of change. Commit to the minute and it will grow. Good luck with your mini goals – great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed my post, thanks for the feedback! Small is better. Gym memberships always made me feel so guilty…I could never commit to going 3x a week and felt like I was wasting money. Walk the dogs at least once a day, sun salutations, and occasional strength training when my neck allows it. I can handle that!

      Like

  2. I don’t believe in making resolutions either. I used to cave to the peer pressure but then never followed through – leaves you feeling like a failure! Small commitments are good. I have better success is I have someone else involved in my commitment, I don’t want to let them down but not holding up to my end of the commitment

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

