That’s what anxiety really is, not a disorder at all; just a  great imagination. Is this the link between creativity and insanity? Anxiety is marked by too much thought, and too much paying attention to one’s thoughts, but these thoughts can be funneled into something creative if you apply yourself. I no longer think that only some people are creative; but that creative people put in the hours and do the work everyday, they really commit, and they get better and better, like any activity that is practiced faithfully. Anyone can do that; whether you are considered “creative” is not the point, the doing is the point. We can all do something, and improve.

I was having an IFC  treatment yesterday, and water was dripping on my arm throughout as I lie there face down, not knowing why. I lay there thinking, electricity is running into my body as water drips on me=electrocution? Or maybe, the water is dripping from the ceiling due to all the rain, and the ceiling might cave in on top of me while I lie here being “treated”. Tell me, is this anxiety or a good imagination? Both of these scenarios can be turned into stories or movies, right? Scary ones, for sure! It may be very zen and mindful to lie there and say, “Hmm, water is dripping on me, Om” but that doesn’t get the books and movies created now, does it?! Perhaps well-adjusted people just aren’t using their imaginations. Try harder, people!

The rainbow at the end of the panic attack. Om.

*Image courtesy of grafrica.com.ng Used by permission.

 

Leave a Reply

